listen | discography | photo & movie

The Spirit of Beauty -Van Cleef & Arpels Exhibition Soundtracks-



01 The Spirit of Elegance 1

02 The Spirit of Elegance 2

03 Labyrinth

04 The Spirit of Nature

05 The Spirit of Adventure 1

06 Alhambra

07 The Spirit of Adventure 2

08 Incarnation

09 Farewell

TOTAL 39:30 (CD / amorfon011 / Amorfon / 2010)

Commissioned work from a legendary French jeweler Van Cleef & Arpels. This is a soundtrack for their first exhibitoin at Mori Art Center in Tokyo. Piano, strings, winds, sitar, steelpan, Gamelan, field-recording and electronics are integrated. In very slow tempo, each polyrhythmic instruments can be listened. It's like resplendent points. Machida took ambient suite format to express the exhibition themes (nature, elegance, adventure=eastern design). At the gallery, originally 8 channels multitrack system was used. Each instruments and sounds were out from different loudspeakers. This work was remixed as stereo recording.


Yoshio Machida | news | music | art | amorfon | words | contact | JAPANESE | © 1997- YOSHIO MACHIDA